2018 OHL Priority Selection First Round Recap

FirstRoundRecapGraphic 1024x650


20 players from across 11 different organizations were chosen in the first round of the 2018 OHL Priority Selection on Saturday April 7.

The OMHA Champion York Simcoe Express provided the first two picks of the Priority Selection as Quinton Byfield led off the proceedings being chosen by the Sudbury Wolves before teammate Evan Vierling followed suit going to the Flint Firebirds. This marks the first time since 2012 when Connor McDavid (Erie Otters) and Roland McKeown (Kingston Frontenacs) of the Toronto Marlboros went first and second overall. The scenario also presented itself back in 2006 when current-day NHL stars Steven Stamkos (Sarnia Sting) and Michael Del Zotto (Oshawa Generals) of the Markham Waxers were the first two picks of the OHL Priority Selection.

The GTHL Champion Toronto Marlboros led all teams with five players chosen in the first round including third and fourth overall picks Will Cuylle (Peterborough Petes) and Jamie Drysdale (Erie Otters). Blueliner Lleyton Moore (12th, Niagara IceDogs), forward Riley Piercey (16th, Barrie Colts) and winger Reid Valade (17th, Kitchener Rangers) soon followed.

The GTHL’s Vaughan Kings produced three first round picks including fifth overall selection Cole Perfetti (Saginaw Spirit), forward Tyler Tullio (11th, Oshawa Generals) and blueliner Ryan O’Rourke (20th, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds) while the OMHA’s Oakville Rangers also boasted three including centreman Cameron Tolnai (6th, Ottawa 67’s) and back-to-back picks in defenceman Jake Murray (13th, Kingston Frontenacs) and forward Luke Evangelista (14th, London Knights).

The GTHL led the way with 10 first round selections followed closely by the OMHA with seven.

The NOHA and HEO circuits each produced one top-20 selection as the North Bay Battalion chose local rearguard Pacey Schlueting of the North Bay Minor Midget Trappers with the ninth overall pick while the Owen Sound Attack selected Ottawa-area defenceman Nolan Seed of the Smiths Falls Bears at 15th.

Sarnia Sting first choice Jacob Perreault of the Chicago Mission 16U program was the lone American chosen in the first round at 19th overall.

The first round saw 13 forwards and seven defencemen taken by OHL clubs.



1. Shane Wright, Don Mills Flyers
2. Brennan Othmann, Don Mills Flyers
3. Brandt Clarke, Don Mills Flyers
4. Roman Schmidt, Don Mills Flyers
5. Colby Saganiuk, Pittsburgh Penguins 16U
6. Dylan Duke, Compuware 16U
7. Connor Lockhart, Kanata Lasers
8. Mason McTavish, Pembroke Lumberkings
9. Sasha Pastujov, Compuware 16U
10. Maddox Callens, Brantford 99ers

HeadCheck Health

HeadCheck Logo 2017 Full Colour

Do More For Your Athletes. Implement and strengthen your concussion policy with HeadCheck's innovative software and services. Visit to learn more.


Lisa Clark's Skating Instruction

Looking to gain an edge over the competition by improving your skating skills? Lisa Clark is an experienced instructor who can help you take your game to the next level. 

Follow the link to learn more! Lisa Clark Skating


Looking for an opportunity to truly maximize your Brand? Looking for that advertising edge? can help your next advertising campaign reach its target audience.

If your interested in advertising on, Ontario's Minor Hockey news leader, Contact Us.